Posted by: atowhee | July 7, 2015

STARTING AT ZERO

Our new home will be in McMinnville, Oregon.  That’s in Yamhill County southwest of Portland.  The county’s known for having about half of the state’s wineries and being home to some widely touted Pinot Noir vintages.  But there are parks and wild spots where I will begin birding.  Checking on eBird I realize I was moving to a county where my total life list stood at zero.

In San Francisco County, where I once lived, my eBird list is 206, and that doesn’t include many of my older checklists yet.  In Jackson County, OR, from which we just moved, my life list is at 229.  Multnomah County contains Portland and there my life list is already at 108.   So I have some Yamhill growth to look forward to.

On July 6 I noted what birds we saw as we were around McMinnville and along Hwy 99.  Now my life list stands for the county at 14.  Haven’t even put on my binoculars yet.  Mostly very easy ones like Kestrel, Crow, Robin and Rock Pigeon

So far this year in Yamhill, the leading species total for the county on eBird: 128.  I already had over 170 in Jackson County and two other birders are already well over 200 species.  I suspect that is more a reflection of light coverage in Yamhill and not a dearth of species.  The county has rivers, marsh and forested mountains with heavy rainfall that reach over 3000′ elevation.  I will be interested to learn what birds are here, and which ones I’ve left behind in the Cascades and Siskiyous.  When I see my first Glaucous-winged Gull overhead I will be confirmed in my suspicion this is a different world, birdly speaking.

Responses

  1. Welcome to the Willamette Valley; I’m in Sublimity, SE of Salem. I will miss your interesting posts about the southern part of our state, though.

    • thanks, I get to start on a whole new county list…and am glad to be back near the ocean…when we moved to Ashland from Sf we didn’t realize it took four hours of hard driving to reach the beach…I miss the turnstones and alcids

  2. Sad to see you leave us here in Ashland… and just when I was learning so much from you. New territory should be a great and fun challenge for you. Just be sure to let us know when you are headed south. I know the GGO’s will miss you too.

  3. Harry,
    We are surprised and saddened to see you move. We always learned so much from you and enjoyed your great knowledge and enthusiasm. You are going to be sorely missed.
    We may have to move to Yamhill County but it wasn’t really in the plan…….
    Joan and Wayne Brown


Leave a Reply

Categories

