Posted by: atowhee | December 21, 2016

YAMHILL CBC: SOME SCOUTING

Doing my first Yamhill Valley CBC tomorrow…so I pretended to ignore the freezing fog and low visibility and went scouting this afternoon.  I even got permission and the key to bird in Metsker County Park which is reserved for education and research.  It was worth the trouble.

Best birds were Dipper in Baker Creek just below the dam on Rainbow Pond in Metsker Park, and then a fogged in Red-shouldered Hawk about a mile west of Grenfell Park along Baker Creek Road.dippr-dec21dppr-uppp

I finally escaped the thick fog as I headed west and uphill, finding bright sun about 17000 (address number).  As I headed back homeward and down into the fog a raptor was perched on a utility pole.  Too chunky to be the Merlin I hoped, not big enough for a Red-tail.  As I passed it flew and I got a glimpse of that boldly marked black and white tail. I turned around, found a safe stopping placer and searched the woods whence it had flown…several layers of limbs were in the way so I got the best shots I could, and then it flew  Blurred images show the rusty chest, the barred tail, the black and white checkers on the back.  My first Yamhill Red-shoulder of the season.rsh-in-fogrsh2-in-fogrsh3-in-fog

Nora the dog was as happy with the snow as I was to see open water and ducks at Rainbow Pond.rainbow-pond

Baker Creek Road, Yamhill, Oregon, US
Dec 21, 2016.  8 species

Red-shouldered Hawk (Buteo lineatus)  1
Red-tailed Hawk (Buteo jamaicensis)  2
Northern Flicker (Colaptes auratus)  1
American Kestrel (Falco sparverius)  5
California Scrub-Jay (Aphelocoma californica)  1
European Starling (Sturnus vulgaris)  X
Golden-crowned Sparrow (Zonotrichia atricapilla)  2
Song Sparrow (Melospiza melodia)  1

Metsker Park–permit needed, Yamhill, Oregon, US
Dec 21, 2016 3:00 PM – 3:20 PM. 4 species.  Rainbow Pond was open water.

Mallard (Anas platyrhynchos)  10
Bufflehead (Bucephala albeola)  4
American Dipper (Cinclus mexicanus)  1
Song Sparrow (Melospiza melodia)  5

Leave a Reply

Categories

