Posted by: atowhee | October 13, 2014

MONDAY’S BIRDS

Monday’s Merlin. This is the explanation for why there seemed to be no songbirds around Ashland Pond about 430pm today. One Heron, a few passing Starlings. Merlin perched high and obvious, taking no cover and taking no chances. The bird was swiftly turning its head side to side, then silently it dropped off its perch, gave a couple strong wing beats and sped off across the nearby meadow. Bad news for some careless, small bird.

MERLN2 (1280x960)
This was my first Merlin of the season here in Jackson County.
P2190333 (1280x960)
I saw the Ehite-throated Sparrow again so I know the Merlin hasn’t eaten it.
Two Crows with their heads together must surely be termed a “conference of crows.”
CROWS CONFER (1280x960)
This young Band-taild Pigeon was as shocked to see me as if I came from another planet. It was lounging in our garden, perhaps I was its first human? The juvenile status confirmed by the lack of a white neck band.
P2190340 (1280x960)


Leave a comment

Categories